AVS Discussions
  Go Down

Dirty Dancing 35th Anniversary Edition (4K UHD Blu-ray) review

Studio: Lions Gate
Release Date: August 23, 2022
Rating: PG-13
Film: 4/5

Plot
While vacationing in the summer of 1963 with her family, 17-year-old Baby (Jennifer Grey) is drawn to the staff quarters by stirring music and meets rebellious Jonny (Patrick Swayze), the hotel dance instructor, who is as experienced as Baby is naive. Oh the possibilities.

My Thoughts
This came to theaters the year I graduated high school and you could get a date with virtually any girl in school as long as you made it known you intended on taking her to see this flick. Needless to say, I saw it more than once and as far a chick flicks go, this is one of the best. The casting is perfect with Swayze and Grey as the two leads and the soundtrack is one of my personal favorites from the 1980s.

Lions Gate has been very aggressive with their catalog UHD releases and I’m not complaining one bit. Unfortunately, this title has been a mixed-bag for its home video releases. It’s 2007 Blu-ray release is arguably the worst-looking film ever to be released on the format—no joke. Thankfully, they went back and remastered it in 2010 and there was a vast improvement in the video quality—which means it went from atrocious to mediocre, yet watchable (unlike the 2007 version).