AVS Discussions
  Go Down

Constructing and Waiting for MY new System

Barry

Constructing and Waiting for MY new System
« on: February 20, 2021, 04:17:45 PM »
  I am in the process of setting up my new system. Of course, I have been setting it up now for about three years, piece by piece. I post this because this site, especially David and Terry have been so helpful.  This a case of the the Good, The Bad and the Ugly.

The Good: We can have really great looking and sounding movies now at home.

The Bad: when I updated to 4K I was really not happy with the JVC DLA- RS 3000. I even had one of their service guys come to the house. For example, the 3D movies appeared so dark it was not fun to watch them. But their new update seems to have fixed everything. I delighted.

The Ugly: Not so much Ugly, but sad.  In the 1980s I was “exposed” to high end by listening and thoroughly enjoying Mark Levenson (a.k.a. Madrigal) and their Proceed equipment. That changed radically when Harmon bought it and the merged the manufacturing with their other products.

I switched to Krell. For several years I enjoyed my amps and processor.  Sadly, Krell too was taken over and they no longer update or construct their own products. I had trouble with repairs and updating. But no 4K or Atmos.
So, not spending money this year because we did not go anywhere or do anything.  I decided to make a big jump to McIntosh, which I think (and pray) will be around for a while.  So I am now waiting for the components to come in, if I am lucky, next month.

Amplifier (center)                    McIntosh MC-611
Amplifiers (lt/rt)                      McIntosh MC1.25KW
Amplifier (5 channel)                Krell S-1500 (only remaining Krell, 15 years old)
4K Disc Player                         Panasonic UB9000 (2.5 years, I think)
CD/SACD Player                      Esoteric K-01XD
Controller                                McIntosh MX170