Gremlins 35th Anniversary Edition (UHD) review

Gremlins 35th Anniversary Edition (UHD) review
« on: September 28, 2019, 10:07:38 PM »

Studio: Warner Brothers
Release Date: October 1, 2019
Rating: PG
Film: 4/5

Plot
Gremlins is a wildly original roller-coaster ride of hilarious mischief.  One minute your hair will stand on end, the next you’ll hold your sides with laughter at the havoc these supposedly gentle furballs create when the rules surrounding their care and feeding are inadvertently broken one fateful Christmas.  Written by Chris Columbus and directed by Joe Dante, Gremlins unleashes special effects that dazzle and enchant and merriment that lingers in the memory.

My Thoughts
This film came out when I was a freshman in high school, and I remember seeing it with a bunch of friends and loving it. Little did I know at the time that it would become such an endearing film 35 years after its initial release. When my kids were young, I decided one night about 15 years ago to watch the film with my two kids, who were maybe eight and six at the time. Well, that was a HUGE mistake. I had forgotten how violent and scary the film gets, especially in its second and third acts and neither of the kids slept for multiple nights in a row without having nightmares. To this day, my wife—and kids—never let me forget that fateful night.

I don’t think Warner minted a new 4K DI for this film because normally they advertise that fact on the press release. Regardless, this is the best the film has looked to me on home video. I owned the DVD and Blu-ray, and there’s definitely an uptick in detail, color saturation, and shadow delineation compared to my vintage Blu-ray. The audio track is a 5.1 DTS-HD MA mix that’s pretty front loaded, but DSU does a good job of putting my overhead and rear speakers to work.

Video 9/10 

Audio 8/10 (DTS-HD MA 5.1)

Special Features (Housed on Blu-ray):

• Commentary
  • Gremlins: Behind the Scenes Featurette
  • Additional Scenes with Commentary