AVS Discussions
  Go Down

Hi everyone

Hi everyone
« on: August 04, 2020, 09:30:25 AM »
Hey everyone
Hope everyone is staying safe during the covid times. 

My name is Jason and I'm very new to the game people like to call a money pit / rabbit hole / etc. 

Growing up, I've always wanted a beast of a system I can go hang out in and watch movies, LOUD and immersive as can be. I couldn't do that with my ex because we weren't going anywhere in life. Got divorced, worked on myself and got an amazing job and met this amazing Nurse Practitioner who is about to finish up her Doctorate in nursing. God help her soul with the amount of work that goes into that but she loves it, and it trickles down to me.

Here I am, I have a new home we purchased, getting married in December (Covid pending), made some sacrifices of things I wanted/had and we are both wanting a home theater. I'm slowly piecing it together here and there and still putting the wedding as my top priority, but come December (or if I can find a damn good deal, which I have several times already), it's game time!

I'll definitely be lurking. I've already learned so much and made changes on what I think I wanted so many times already so it's time to finally pull the trigger and call it a day, before I have a frankenstein of a system. 

I went from wanting the BenQ800M to the 5040, 5050, 6050, then the Sony 295ES purely based on specs and me seeing them visually. Did more research on screen sizes, realized this will be for movies only, no games no television (my fiance seems to think she will watch a lot of TLC on it, she's nuts) and came up with wanting a 2.35:1 aspect ratio all the way. Then I realized that the 295ES doesn't have lens memory and it looks to be a pain having to constantly set it up, so here we are at me looking at the JVC NX5, which was recommended by everyone I talked to. Perhaps I should listen more to the people who have been in the game a lot longer than I have LOL.