AVS Discussions

Networking => Routers and Ethernet => Topic started by: NBPk402 on December 05, 2016, 06:36:24 PM

Title: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 05, 2016, 06:36:24 PM
I just did a fresh install of Windows 7, and Windows doesn't see my NAS. This has happened in the past and then reappeared, and then disappeared again. I have turned off the firewall, verified WORKGROUP is not Workgroup, and it still doesn't see it unless I do one of the following things...
1: Input the IP address into windows like this: \\192.168.1.xxx
2: Input into file explorer as \\192.168.1.xxx\

Once you input it this way you can do what you want, but as soon as I close the window, and re-open it it is gone again. I have searched google, and I see it is happening to others too. I have tried some of the fixes that some (not all)people say fix it but none do. Does anyone know how to fix this?

This problem is only with Windows. I can see my NAS via Samba, and NFS via my Kodi boxes.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: jkasanic on December 06, 2016, 01:05:35 PM
What happens when you type \\tower in Windows Explorer?  Did you setup a user on UnRAID to access the server from Windows (i.e. with password authentication)?  Also, how have you established IP address of your server?  Are you reserving the IP address in your router and have you made any modifications to your network.cfg file in your boot directory (i.e. to specify a static "local" IP address)?
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 06, 2016, 03:17:18 PM
What happens when you type \\tower in Windows Explorer?  Did you setup a user on UnRAID to access the server from Windows (i.e. with password authentication)?  Also, how have you established IP address of your server?  Are you reserving the IP address in your router and have you made any modifications to your network.cfg file in your boot directory (i.e. to specify a static "local" IP address)?
If i go into File Explorer and click on Network, then type in \\Tower\ in the window...it works. If I go into Google, I have to type in the IP address to get it to pull up UnRaid. I never set up a user to use UnRaid, nor do i have any passwords set on Windows 7. My IP addresses are all setup manually.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: jkasanic on December 06, 2016, 03:32:54 PM
If i go into File Explorer and click on Network, then type in \\Tower\ in the window...it works. If I go into Google, I have to type in the IP address to get it to pull up UnRaid. I never set up a user to use UnRaid, nor do i have any passwords set on Windows 7. My IP addresses are all setup manually.

I just assumed you were using unRAID v5 or later? If so, you would need to setup a user account to access your shares as root is no longer an option with these versions (security feature).

If you're still on v4.7 or earlier then it was possible to access unRAID shares without a user account for read/write access using the root account.

Finally, since you can't seem to get the "tower" to show in network then you might consider editing your network.cfg file in your /boot/config directory of your flash drive.  Here's a link to the wiki for a sample configuration:

http://www.lime-technology.com/wiki/index.php/Configuration_Tutorial#Verifying_Network_Connectivity
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 06, 2016, 03:38:32 PM
I just assumed you were using unRAID v5 or later? If so, you would need to setup a user account to access your shares as root is no longer an option with these versions (security feature).

If you're still on v4.7 or earlier then it was possible to access unRAID shares without a user account for read/write access using the root account.

Finally, since you can't seem to get the "tower" to show in network then you might consider editing your network.cfg file in your /boot/config directory of your flash drive.  Here's a link to the wiki for a sample configuration:

http://www.lime-technology.com/wiki/index.php/Configuration_Tutorial#Verifying_Network_Connectivity

I am on UnRaid 6.2.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: jkasanic on December 06, 2016, 03:53:46 PM
I am on UnRaid 6.2.

I'm on 6.2.4. Since I saw you're using Kodi as a front end to your Android boxes in the other thread, how are you configuring your shares in Kodi for access? Must have a username and password as guests have no access and root is not an option.

I know I'm mixing up access to your server with access to your shares but there is a connection. I can't access my server in my Win 7 VM without entering a username and password.  If your server is available in Win 7 without entering anything at all then it's likely you have saved the credentials from a previous login. Try deleting all of the credentials in credentials manager and restarting Win 7.  If there is no credentials then can you confirm if you have read/write access to the server or only read access? My final guess would be you might have some user info "stuck" somewhere from a previous version of UnRAID. You can confirm this by checking what users are setup in the Users tab of the UnRAID console?
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 06, 2016, 03:58:59 PM
I'm on 6.2.4. Since I saw you're using Kodi as a front end to your Android boxes in the other thread, how are you configuring your shares in Kodi for access? Must have a username and password as guests have no access and root is not an option.

I know I'm mixing up access to your server with access to your shares but there is a connection. I can't access my server in my Win 7 VM without entering a username and password.  If your server is available in Win 7 without entering anything at all then it's likely you have saved the credentials from a previous login. Try deleting all of the credentials in credentials manager and restarting Win 7.  If there is no credentials then can you confirm if you have read/write access to the server or only read access? My final guess would be you might have some user info "stuck" somewhere from a previous version of UnRAID. You can confirm this by checking what users are setup in the Users tab of the UnRAID console?
I just checked the Users tab, and the only user is Root. I will need to check the other info you were asking about too.

As far as my Kodi boxes... I just select Samba or NFS , and then punch in my IP address. Once i do that i can see all my shared folders on UnRaid. I don't know what I have done but there are no users assigned on my Kodi boxes, UnRaid, or Windows 7.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: jkasanic on December 06, 2016, 04:17:51 PM
I just checked the Users tab, and the only user is Root. I will need to check the other info you were asking about too.

As far as my Kodi boxes... I just select Samba or NFS , and then punch in my IP address. Once i do that i can see all my shared folders on UnRaid. I don't know what I have done but there are no users assigned on my Kodi boxes, UnRaid, or Windows 7.

I'm pretty sure this is the root cause of your issue.  I had something similar happen to me but that was back on v5. You shouldn't be able to use the root account to access shares from outside of your server in v6 of UnRAID.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 06, 2016, 04:24:13 PM
I'm pretty sure this is the root cause of your issue.  I had something similar happen to me but that was back on v5. You shouldn't be able to use the root account to access shares from outside of your server in v6 of UnRAID.

Thanks, I will have to figure out how to solve this problem then. Not sure if this means a reinstall of UnRaid V6 or not though.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 07, 2016, 08:26:31 AM
Last night the problem was solved. There is a plugin to make UnRaid the Master Server. Once I installed it it showed my OpenElec (Don't know why) as the master server. I unplugged the OpenElec machine, and then it showed UnRaid as the server. I had to reboot Win 7 several times, but it then showed "Tower" once again. I also found out that the way I setup UnRaid will not require a user to log in to a non root account. The reason for this is all my shares are set to public.

Thanks for your assistance,
Ron
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: jkasanic on December 07, 2016, 08:55:02 AM
Last night the problem was solved. There is a plugin to make UnRaid the Master Server. Once I installed it it showed my OpenElec (Don't know why) as the master server. I unplugged the OpenElec machine, and then it showed UnRaid as the server. I had to reboot Win 7 several times, but it then showed "Tower" once again. I also found out that the way I setup UnRaid will not require a user to log in to a non root account. The reason for this is all my shares are set to public.

Thanks for your assistance,
Ron

Ah ok...understood.  If your server is connected to the internet though then you may want to review your setup. Ransomware is a real issue that could wipe out your entire database. Squid over on the UnRAID forum has a plugin to try and deal with it but leaving your server shares set to public with an internet connection is definitely risky to say the least.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 07, 2016, 09:04:06 AM
Ah ok...understood.  If your server is connected to the internet though then you may want to review your setup. Ransomware is a real issue that could wipe out your entire database. Squid over on the UnRAID forum has a plugin to try and deal with it but leaving your server shares set to public with an internet connection is definitely risky to say the least.
Shouldn't my firewall stop that?
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 07, 2016, 09:09:30 AM
...and the saga continues. I just went back to windows explorer and it is gone again! :( The PC logged off on me overnight and undid whatever had fixed it apparently.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: jkasanic on December 07, 2016, 10:21:37 AM
Shouldn't my firewall stop that?
Software or hardware? In any case, your current setup is more like an invitation for something bad to happen.  If I were you, at the very least I would create a user profile for all of your kodi boxes with read only access. If you need write access from your Win7 PC then create a separate user for that machine with read/write and only export the shares (user or disk shares doesn't matter) you actually need write access.  For example, if you're copying media from your Win 7 machine to Tower then don't bother exporting your whole "Media" share with read/write access but rather, just the one disk share that you're currently filling up and then change permissions as you add new disks.  I think you'll find adding a user (or two) will solve your Win 7 problem.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: jkasanic on December 09, 2016, 05:38:25 AM
I came across your thread on the LimeTech forum.  Johnathan and Frank both gave good advice. The only thing is Frank was trying to isolate your problem without addressing your security issues.  I think Johnathan hit the nail on the head.  In the end it's up to you but I don't see how adding a user for your Win 7 machine would hurt to try?  Once you use Windows Credential Manager to save the login, you can bet Tower will show up in your network without you having to type it in.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 09, 2016, 06:20:48 AM
I came across your thread on the LimeTech forum.  Johnathan and Frank both gave good advice. The only thing is Frank was trying to isolate your problem without addressing your security issues.  I think Johnathan hit the nail on the head.  In the end it's up to you but I don't see how adding a user for your Win 7 machine would hurt to try?  Once you use Windows Credential Manager to save the login, you can bet Tower will show up in your network without you having to type it in.
My problem has now evolved... I decided to reinstall Win 7 again because after doing the changes I could no longer do Windows update for some reason. Now i have reinstalled Win 7 Pro 3 times and I still can not do any updates with Windows Updater. :( I need to do Windows Updates to allow me to install my Home Automation software too. I have even tried it with my pc directly plugged into my router. Everything works fine in the OS including internet, but as soon as I try to do a update... it appears to freeze. My Windows will work fine, but Windows update is constantly looking for the updates, and even after several hours has not resulted in anything...just looking for updates. I have no anti virus installed, and i did a format of the SSD when I did the install. This is very frustrating.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 09, 2016, 08:14:06 AM
Well apparently Microsoft wants everyone to move to Windows 10 so they are making it more difficult to install Windows 7. I have used my same install disc since i bought it 3 years ago, and i reinstall windows once or twice a year without any problems either. This time was a nightmare, and I noticed that the problems started for others after they released Windows 10!
I tried numerous solutions to this problem(none of which worked)...until I found this info which I followed and it is downloading updates again!

"1. Disable Windows Updates (tell it to never check for updates).
2. Reboot.
3. Download and install Internet Explorer 11.
4. Download update KB3102810 and place it on your desktop (make sure you get the correct one, 64 bit or 32 (X86) bit). Place on your desktop.
5. Reboot.
6. Go into Computer Management (right click on Computer in Start Menu) and select Services.
7. Stop Windows Update service.
8. Start Menu, Computer, C: drive, Windows, delete the entire Software Distribution folder.
9. Double click on update KB3102810 and let it install.
10: Reboot (this will turn update service back on).
11. Go into Windows Updates and check for updates. Give it about an hour, it may take less time but be patient. It will start working.
12. After installing your updates, you can turn Windows Update automatic check for updates back on if you like."
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: jkasanic on December 09, 2016, 08:27:07 AM
Ok, once your updates finish, try creating a user in UnRAID and use those login credentials from Win 7.  Go ahead and click the remember credentials checkbox.  Let me know.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 09, 2016, 08:39:56 AM
Ok, once your updates finish, try creating a user in UnRAID and use those login credentials from Win 7.  Go ahead and click the remember credentials checkbox.  Let me know.
Will do...right now i have UnRaid as NOT Local server, For some reason Openelec/Kodi is the server again. I originally thought the update problem was because of UnRaid being the server, but now i know it was a Microsoft problem.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: kokishin on December 09, 2016, 09:45:39 AM
Ron,

FWIW, I have WHS 1.1 w/PP3.  On Win7 Pro and now Win10 Pro, sometimes File Exporer sees my WHS and sometimes it doesn't.  I gave up trying to make it see my WHS 100% of the time.  I just type in \\whs_server_name into File Explorer and it remains sticky for a while.  On an earlier version of Win7 Pro, it did not seem to be an issue.  I expect MS made a change in Win7 (for the worse) which they migrated to Win10.  Just wanted to let you know you're not alone.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 09, 2016, 10:23:25 AM
Ron,

FWIW, I have WHS 1.1 w/PP3.  On Win7 Pro and now Win10 Pro, sometimes File Exporer sees my WHS and sometimes it doesn't.  I gave up trying to make it see my WHS 100% of the time.  I just type in \\whs_server_name into File Explorer and it remains sticky for a while.  On an earlier version of Win7 Pro, it did not seem to be an issue.  I expect MS made a change in Win7 (for the worse) which they migrated to Win10.  Just wanted to let you know you're not alone.

Thanks, if it wasn't for certain apps I have that need to be on Windows...I would go back to Linux. I might even try them on a virtual Windows in Linux in the near future.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: jkasanic on December 09, 2016, 10:31:43 AM
Ron,

FWIW, I have WHS 1.1 w/PP3.  On Win7 Pro and now Win10 Pro, sometimes File Exporer sees my WHS and sometimes it doesn't.  I gave up trying to make it see my WHS 100% of the time.  I just type in \\whs_server_name into File Explorer and it remains sticky for a while.  On an earlier version of Win7 Pro, it did not seem to be an issue.  I expect MS made a change in Win7 (for the worse) which they migrated to Win10.  Just wanted to let you know you're not alone.

Do you also have yours set to public or is it setup with a user account (i.e. username and password)?
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: kokishin on December 09, 2016, 11:00:36 AM
Do you also have yours set to public or is it setup with a user account (i.e. username and password)?

Set up with username/password.  The user accounts on the WHS are the same username/password as the Win10 Pro client logins.  So if I'm logged into WIn10 as kokishin, then I don't have to supply my login credentials to access WHS.  Same for Mrs kokishin.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: jkasanic on December 11, 2016, 04:34:31 AM
I just read on the LT forum that other users are reporting issues with accessing their shares on Win 10 with 6.2.4. What I found most interesting though was BRiT's post that he has no issues but has username and passwords setup:

It's post #98 here:
http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.php?topic=53511.msg521723#msg521723
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 11, 2016, 08:43:14 AM
I just read on the LT forum that other users are reporting issues with accessing their shares on Win 10 with 6.2.4. What I found most interesting though was BRiT's post that he has no issues but has username and passwords setup:

It's post #98 here:
http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.php?topic=53511.msg521723#msg521723
I have decided that since I only use Windows to copy files from drive to NAS, or for deleting... I will just do mapping since speed is not as important for this. I will go in and do passwords for my drives though.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 16, 2016, 09:28:47 AM
I also decided now is the time to upgrade my Netgear 8-10 port switches to Cisco 18-20 port switches. I am thinking that having all SG200, and SG300 switches is best (same manufacturer), as this should make it easier to integrate as a full system. I might even look for a Cisco Router, and just get a Wifi unit separately. I am not sure on the Cisco Routers though as i have heard some Cisco products are a pain to get working properly. Any feedback?
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: jkasanic on December 16, 2016, 02:12:36 PM
I like the Linksys line of wireless routers.  Never had any issues and they're as good as the Cisco line imho.
Title: Re: Windows 7 doesn't see my UnRaid NAS
Post by: NBPk402 on December 17, 2016, 08:42:16 AM
I have a Cisco Business class switch (SG200-26) in our HT, we will have a Cisco SG200-18 in our LR, and a SG300-20 where our Netgear router is. The guy I bought the SG300 from is also sending me a Cisco 890 router too. I have zero experience with the Cisco Routers, and i hope it is not difficult to configure. I will most likely get rid of the Netgear R7000, and get a WIFI extender for our WIFI. The SG300 is a managed switch which I have heard will allow internal network routing, but cannot replace a regular router...don't understand that. I am hoping that the Cisco router will allow better speed than the Netgear does.

The new (to me switches, and routers) are all used so i got a pretty good deal IMO on them vs buying BNIB like I did my first SG200.
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2021, SimplePortal